CHANGES (first of many parts)

(My life has witnessed so many changes since the start of this year that I decided to make a mini-series about this topic on this blog. So from time to time, I will be writing about these changes just to keep track of all the blessings they bring and to take note also of the adjustments I have to make along the way. This is inspired by a realisation on my way to work at the beginning of July— the second half of this year — that 2013 has been an eventful, life changing year for me)

Because of my new work and all the other things going on in my life, I haven’t had much time to hang out with good friends. And if you know me and my lifestyle, this qualifies as tragic. Aside from one balikbayan friend, the only other friends I’ve seen the past months were those who attended the same meetings i attended. I know. It’s that bad.

Which is not to say that I’m not enjoying my life now. I really do. It’s just that sometimes, I miss my court attorney days when leaving the office at 4:30 was the norm, and shopping after office was a given. And to be perfectly honest about it, were it not for my conviction  that that was a dead end job for me, I never would have left.

Anyway, back to my point: I miss my friends. A lot of things are also going on in their lives, so it’s perfectly understandable why meeting up is such a major production these days. This is such a far cry from the time when we had dinner almost every night and we spent time almost every weekend. Now it feels like serious, grown-up concerns have taken over, and even when we do talk, it’s still all about these concerns. Last night, as I was texting with a friend, I realized how much her outlook has changed through the years. And it dawned on me that maybe that’s explained by the fact that she’s nearing 40, and no matter how many people say that it’s bound to be an awesome decade,  it’s still terrifying when you cross that threshold. I’m almost there. And sometimes I wonder if it was a good idea in the first place to undergo all these lifestyle changes at this stage in my life.

I have high hopes, however, that when I’ve adjusted to my new way of life, I can more or less see my way through.  There are days when I pine for the comforts of my old life, but there are also days (and they’re more often now) when I’m grateful for the risks I’ve taken. Because when you think about it, life has been good to me the past months. The only thing I have to start doing again is enjoy the journey and take my friends along with me.  

 

About whathappensinbetween

It took me almost an hour to figure out what to write here so I guess that says a lot about me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to CHANGES (first of many parts)

  1. rabbi Deloso says:

    You are on extended sabbatical Gigay. Or maybe you should treat this new job as a holiday job. I was reminded of you during my case conference today with some big Bosses in local government here. One participant said, ‘that’s a minor problem’ when she should have said ‘insignificant problem’. I suddenly remembered how you taunted me after my Persons recitation many years ago. Anyway, just catching up on your life novel. You are such a good writer my friend. I hope you write an inspirational book one day.
    Sorry for above obiter, what I wanted to say is, continue enjoying your life. Everyday is a blessing. People here in England asks me at times why nothing seem to rattle me. I say, I’m alive when I could have died when I was almost hit by a speeding car when I was 9. I’m alive and everyday is an opportunity to start again. A day at a time. Planning is overrated. If I followed my plan when I was in my teens. I would have been a miserable and grumpy top litigator. What a nightmare that is. You’re doing well kid.

    • If you say I’m doing well, then maybe I am. Hehe. Glad to know you’re still the same child like friend I knew from way back 😉 Continue being one! You’ve found your place in the sun. I’m so happy for you!!! 😉

  2. divpang says:

    kinabog ako ng comment ni Rabbi. My human brain cannot catch up with his British sense. jejeje. Anyways, I’m really happy for you, whathappensinbetween! 🙂 I miss you and I really hope we will have lunch very soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

