And That Was Summer…

There’s a special reason why this particular summer is special. Last April, I resigned from work and decided it was time to re-evaluate my life. So just like that, I packed my bags and headed to my province where I was sure I could spend a lot of time to think; away from Manila and the things that cloud my judgment. 

The last time I had a long vacation was while I was waiting for the bar results 12 years ago. I also went to Mindoro then while my batch mates were busy finding work and starting their careers as associates. I felt left behind but my mom insisted that that would probably be the only time I could find time to rest before I become busy being a lawyer. She was right. To this day, I consider that time as one of the happiest times of my life, thanks to my mom who knew better as usual.

And so last March, when the opportunity to go on an extended vacation presented itself, I didn’t have to wait for my mom’s prodding anymore. On my own volition, I decided to go home and spend an entire month in Mindoro. I wasn’t disappointed. I had a lot of time to be on my own, recall the things I’m passionate about, and be thankful for the chance to start over again. I also got to spend quality time with my mom—something that I’ve always wanted to do for the longest time. I went to Pandan island twice and rediscovered the beauty of that place. I read a lot and prayed a lot, and reflected a lot to the point that I was able to list down my plans and present them to God. I reconnected with relatives, reached out to friends, and talked to a select few almost daily. I wrote on my journal regularly (yes, I still keep one),  took a lot of pictures, and remembered that my creative side is still alive and well. 

I went back to Manila two weeks ago recharged and raring to work again. On Monday, I will start with my new job as I anticipate another hectic life for me. But while my vacation is officially over, my joyful state remains. I’ve never known such clarity in my life now that I am sure of what I want to do and of what I want to happen. I hope every one will have the chance to do what I did; to take a step back, recollect and redefine what’s important. It didn’t even matter that I was nursing a heartache for the most part. It only mattered that I was spending time with myself and with God in a way that led me back to who I am. 

 

About whathappensinbetween

It took me almost an hour to figure out what to write here so I guess that says a lot about me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

