The Zone

I often hear my friends say that they are “in the zone.” They say it when they feel that they’re in their best element, like when they’re sure that the job they have is perfect for them, or when they do something great that they’re meant to do.

Me, I don’t think I’ve ever claimed that I am “in the zone.” As far as I know, the only zone I’m in right now (or for the past six years, that is) is my comfort zone which consists of waking up at 7:00 am, getting ready for work by 8:00 am, being in the office at 9:00 am, and, once there, working at my own pace, at my own time. In between, I get to check my mail, text friends, blog, read the news, and have a coffee break.

To be honest, this isn’t exactly the zone that I imagined for myself. The plan was to become a litigation lawyer, and I was really on my way there but certain things happened that made me want to change my path. Before I knew it, I was already in this  zone, and given how comfortable it is, it’s so hard to leave just like that.

Of course, comfortable doesn’t mean fulfilling. It doesn’t mean rewarding. And it certainly doesn’t mean happy. It’s just what it is: comfortable.

And it’s so hard to turn my back on it.

I love and hate this zone in equal parts.

That’s how bad (or good) it is.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About whathappensinbetween

It took me almost an hour to figure out what to write here so I guess that says a lot about me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

